MD Public Safety Code § 5-133 – Firearms possession laws.
by Baltimore, MD Firearms possession attorney Brandon Mead.
The possession and carrying of firearms in Maryland is a seriously regulated issue in the code of public safety. The regulations here may be very different from what you are used to hearing about in other states.
Owning a firearm is a serious responsibility and understanding the laws of the land is essential for your safety and legal standing. Consequences may be steep and knowledge is always power.
Who Cannot Carry Or Possess A Firearm In Maryland
There are laws stating what kinds of guns that you can own, who can carry said guns, and where you can keep them when they are not in use. But there are also restrictions on who cannot own, carry, or possess a firearm.
By Maryland law, specifically MD Pub Safety Code § 5-133, you cannot own a firearm if you belong in one of the following categories:
- If you have been found guilty of a violent felony or violent misdemeanor, or otherwise mandated by a criminal judge in a courtroom
- If you have, at any time, been found suffering from a mental disability that has caused admission into a mental health facility
- If you have, through mental incompetency, been found unable to stand trial
- If you are the subject of a restraining order
- Fugitives from justice and members of the community with drunk-driving convictions are not allowed to possess and carry firearms.
- You may not possess and carry if you are under the age of 21 years old.
Breaking these laws will bring you serious consequences from the state, and you may find yourself with high fines, future weapon bans, and even jail time.
Consequences For Carrying Or Possessing A Firearm In Maryland
You may not carry a weapon outside your home for any reason aside from hunting (with a hunting rifle) or in case of a special license stating that you have the right to carry a weapon to, or for, work. A crime of possessing or carrying a weapon is usually considered a misdemeanor, but may still carry a hefty price.
Unfortunately, the penalties that you may suffer from this crime may depend on your past history with criminal behavior. First offenders may spend up to three years in prison and pay a fine of any amount up to $2,500. A second conviction of this crime can send you to prison for up to ten years.
Three or more convictions on possession charges can cost you a minimum of three years in prison but can be extended up until ten years. The use of a gun during the commission of any other violent crime can add twenty years to your sentence.
You need help, and it is essential to find a local, knowledgeable, and understanding criminal attorney now. This is about your, and your family’s, future.
Mead Law, P.A., will work tirelessly and aggressively to defend your rights and the quality of your future. Contact us to begin discussions on how we can avoid jail time, excessive fines, and keep the social consequences that may challenge you to a minimum. It’s simply what we’re here for. Contact us today at (410) 727-6400 for more information regarding your case.