By Baltimore firearms possession attorney Brandon Mead
Have you, or a family member, recently been accused of illegal Firearm Possession? These charges are taken very seriously in Maryland as we have strict laws that determine what type of gun you are allowed to have or carry on your person.
Some of these laws can be confusing and a detailed explanation of your rights is warranted. This is definitely not an exhaustive list of charges that could arise out of certain practices, but it covers several large laws that people can abuse.
What is Maryland Criminal Code 4-203?
Carrying And Transporting A Handgun
MD Criminal Code §4-203 states that you must have a permit to carry any gun, no matter if it is concealed or obvious. This law also states that you cannot carry a gun in your vehicle on state roads or on your boat without a readily available license.
Violating this law could land you anywhere from 30 days to three years in jail along with fines up to $2500. The consequences increase if you are caught with the weapon close to a school. Anyone with prior weapons charges cannot own, operate, and transport these weapons at all.
What is Maryland Criminal Code 4-101?
Carrying A Weapon, Open And Concealed
MD Criminal Code § 4-101(c)(1) sets the laws for what weapons are illegal, especially the guns without a permit, and you cannot carry them on your person. Illegal weapons consist of:
- Guns, legal or illegal
- Knives, especially switchblades
- Throwing stars
- OC pepper spray
An effective defense for this charge is self-protection. You may garner sympathy from the judge and jury if you are in legitimate fear for your safety and for your life.
MD Criminal Code §4-101(c)(2) states that carrying a weapon openly, with or without a license, with the intention to harm someone is just illegal. Period.
Charges of this sort can bring on a jail sentence of anywhere up to three years and a fine of up to $1,000. It is considered a misdemeanor and will show up on a background check.
What is Maryland Criminal Code 4-102?
Weapon on School Property
There are to be no weapons on school properties in Maryland. This is a big deal. MD Criminal Code §4-102 says that any weapon brought onto the property may be considered a misdemeanor, unless there was proof that you intended to use it, as opposed to just carrying it.
A jail sentence of up to three years and a fine of up to $1,000 could be your consequences, without a great lawyer of course.
What is Maryland Criminal Code 4-104?
Children With Access To A Firearm
Guns are supposed to be put away, such as in a gun safe, to be kept away from children, or other dependents who aren’t completely aware of the danger these weapons have. MD Criminal Code §4-104 states that an unsupervised child who has direct and easy access to a gun is illegal and you can be charged with a misdemeanor.
You could be fined up to $1,000. If the gun goes off and hurts someone, or kills someone, the charges will definitely increase. The purpose of these laws is to protect yourself and everyone around you from harm and accidental shootings.
Baltimore, MD Firearms Possession Attorneys
Our Baltimore criminal defense attorneys at Mead Law, P.A. can assist you with illegal weapons charges. Our extensive experience in this area will be of great benefit to you and your future.
Give us a call at (410) 727-6400 and schedule a free consultation with our team. We are here for you and we will always defend your rights and your freedom. Contact us as soon as possible to start building your case.